Uber and Lyft are ridesharing services that have become a popular mode of transportation in recent years for work commutes, airport travel, and as a means of arriving home safely after consuming alcohol.
Millions of men and women throughout the United States use Uber and Lyft to request a ride on their cell phone to get where they need to go. While these rideshare apps have become commonplace, they are not immune to accidents.
If you have suffered an injury as a passenger in a rideshare vehicle, our West Palm Beach rideshare accident attorneys at Clark, Fountain, La Vista, Prather, Littky-Rubin & Whitman can help you recover your entitled compensation. We understand the complexities of Florida traffic laws to guide you through the legal process while protecting your rights and best interests from start to finish.
Liability in Rideshare Accidents
In an Uber/Lyft accident, there are various factors to take into consideration. One of the most important things is determining whether a rideshare driver was logged off the app, logged onto the app and accepting rides, or accepted a ride.
If you are driving your own vehicle and an Uber/Lyft driver crashes into you, then only the driver’s personal insurance coverage will take effect. Remember, Florida is a no-fault system, which means you must file a claim with your own insurer before seeking compensation from the at-fault motorist. The minimums for state drivers are $10,000 in personal injury protection and $10,000 in property damage liability. If you sustain a serious or permanent injury, you file a personal injury lawsuit outside the no-fault system.
You deserve seasoned litigation that cares about you and your life—call 561-899-2100 for a free case consultation!
If an Uber/Lyft driver has accepted a ride and is on the way to pick up a passenger when an accident occurs, both the driver’s personal insurance and Uber/Lyft contingent liability coverage are available. When a driver is logged onto the app, he/she must carry at least $50,000 of bodily injury coverage per person, $100,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident, and $25,000 for property damage coverage.
If you are a passenger in an Uber or Lyft and the driver causes an accident, the company’s commercial insurance goes into effect, which includes up to $1 million in third-party liability and $1 million in uninsured (UM)/ underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage. If another driver was responsible for the accident while you’re a passenger in an Uber or Lyft vehicle and he/she has insufficient insurance coverage, the Uber or Lyft policy should take effect to cover the rest.
Determining what insurance policy is responsible for the damages after an Uber or Lyft accident can be a little “gray.” West Palm Beach rideshare accident lawyers can work with you after an accident to ensure that you are being properly compensated by all parties involved.
Call 561-899-2100 for a Free Consultation
With more than 200 years of combined legal experience and over a billion dollars recovered on behalf of our clients, our lawyers understand how to maximize the award you deserve. We can investigate your accident, collect evidence, negotiate with insurance adjusters, and help you get the best possible outcome. After an Uber or Lyft accident, call our West Palm Beach rideshare accident lawyers.